Volume 16, Issue 1 Spring, 2024



Miller County Kistorical Society

2005 HWY. 52, TUSCUMBIA, MO 65082

INSIDE THIS

Baumhoer School

County Officials 3

Donations 4

Membership Form 4

COMING EVENTS

Saturday, March 23, 2024 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. Join us for lunch (chili/hotdogs & dessert) \$5.00 per person, children five and under free. We will have a car show and craft demonstrations including forge, quilting, weaving, and rope making.

Sunday, April 14, 2024 2:00 p.m. General membership meeting and election of officers

Saturday, May 18, 2024 10:00 a.m.—4:00 p.m. Opening day of the summer season. We will be honoring long-time MCHS board member and officer, Jim Clark.

Museum hours are Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., mid May to mid October. Admission is free

THIS 'N THAT

- The National Archives and National Park Service have launched a project to transcribe pension and bounty-land warrant applications from Revolutionary War veterans.
 NARA's catalog can be found at <catalog.archives.gov/id/300022>.
- The David Rumsey Map Collection < www.davidrumsey.com > can now be searched by place names or key words.
- Check out <www.cyndislist.com/queries> to find message boards related to your family surnames and places of residence.

Miller County Historical Society Officers and Board Members

President:
Vice President:
Secretary:
Treasurer:
Museum Director:
Endowment Chair Person:

Bill Weidinger Connie Prather Cathy DeGraffenreid Betty Kallenbach Karen Smith Judy Pryor

David Herron
Greg Keeth
Twyla Limbach
Debra Sash
Martha Tompson
Mike Wood
Connie Wyrick

Board Member Board Member Board Member Board Member Board Member Board Member Board Member

BAUMHOER SCHOOL



taken from HISTORY OF ST. ELIZABETH R-IV SCHOOLS PART I THE RURAL SCHOOLS by Ray Doerhoff

The school was located near the center of section 11 which puts it near the center of the district. This was originally called the Red School and according to John Stuckenschneider it was also called the Polly Hill School. This building was located across the county road from the present Baumhoer School and a short distance away. According to Judge Jenkins History of Miller County, because some of the families kept wanting to attend the Charlestown (St. Elizabeth) School, the district was broken up in 1882 with sections 1, 2, 3, 10 and 11 joining the Charlestown District and the remaining sections annexed to the Jack Lawson (White) District. Then in 1896 the district was re-established and named the Baumhoer District, after Herman Baumhoer who owned the land surrounding the school site. This may have been when the new building was built in its present location. This schoolhouse is still in its original condition as it was abandoned when the high school district was formed, even though it was occupied as a residence for a few years by Sam May. It is now owned by Dale and Alan Doerhoff who have tried to preserve it in its original condition. Both the Big Tavern Creek and Wiemer Creek wind through the district, causing many problems for children who had to walk to school. Urban Kemna said he and his sister Ruth rowed a boat across the creek each day, even when there was high water. If it was frozen in the winter they walked across on the ice.

COUNTY OFFICIALS FROM 1837 TO 1902

PRESIDING JUDGES OF THE COUNTY COURT

John Francis, 1837-1838 Wilson Coats, 1838-1840 John T. Davis, 1840-1843 Robert E. Simpson, 1843-1847 David Reed, 1847-1850 Thomas J. Marshall, 1850-1854 Robert E. Simpson, 1854-1856 Samuel Allen, 1856-1862 Emly Golden, 1863-1864 Charles Tallman, 1864-1866 John Bear, 1867-1871

William McComb, 1871-1872 T.B. Doolittle, 1873-1874 John Bear, 1874-1876 Hiram Reed, 1877-1878 W.R. Wright, 1879-1882 Joseph G. Lurton, 1883-1886 Hiram Reed, 1887-1890 Absalom Bear, 1891-1894 William M. Harrison, 1895-1898 Joseph G. Lurton, 1899-1902

ASSOCIATE JUDGES OF THE COUNTY COURT

Stephen A. Blevans, 1837 Edmund Wilkes, 1837 John Francis, 1838-1842 John T. Davis, 1838-1840 David Musick, 1840 Robert E. Simpson, 1840 John T. Davis, 1842 Robert E. Simpson, 1842 David Reed, 1843-1846 Thomas J. Marshall, 1846-1850 John W. Johnston, 1850 David Reed, 1850 Emly Golden, 1851-1852 George A. Ross, 1854 Joseph Johnston, 1854-1856 Samuel J. Jones, 1856-1860 Emly Golden, 1858-1863 Silas Capps, 1863

FIRST DISTRICT

E.G. Miller, 1891-1892-D Ino. C. Morrison, 1893-1894-R Jacob Cotten, 1895-1896-R Jas. N. Dooley, 1897-1900-D Josiah Goodman, 1863-1864 Ludwell Bacon, 1864 William McCombs, 1867 Theodore B. Doolittle, 1869 John Bear, 1871 T.D. Shelton, 1875 John S. Jobe, 1879 Hiram Reed, 1879 Benjamin F. Cotten, 1881 Absalom Bear, 1881-1884 John J. Pitchford, 1883 Isaiah Bunker, 1885 John A. Fisher, 1885 E.G. Miller, 1887-1889 Manesseh Jones, 1887-1889 A.M. Russell, 1889-1891-R

SECOND DISTRICT

Manesseh Jones, 1891-1892-R Nathaniel G. Thompson, 1893-1896-R Thomas J. Atwell, 1897-1898-R George W. Payne, 1899-1902-R

J.M. Hawkins, 1889-1891-R

CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT AND RECORDER OF DEEDS

I.P. Harrison, 1837-1838 William P. Dixon, 1838-1844 John B. Harrison, 1845-1848 E.B. Farley, 1857-1863 I.M. Goodrich, 1863-1867

T.B. Robinson, 1867-1879 J.B. Clark, 1879-1887 W.P. Freeman, 1887-1894-R William P. Dixon, 1848-1856 James M. Bacon, 1895-1898-R Charles Clark-D-was appointed to succeed James M. Bacon, who died. William M. Harrison, 1899-1906-R

CLERKS OF THE COUNTY COURT

I.P. Harrison, 1837 William P. Dixon, 1838-1844

I.M. Goodrich, 1863-1866 T.B. Robinson, 1867-1878

DONATIONS

Donations Phil & Susan Wright, Elmer Brown, Anonymous

Life Memberships Tanya Jackson, Jill Harrison Mergelkamp, Beth Keller Machon

In Memory of Helen McCan Tracy Force

In Memory of Liene DeCrista Heiser James Atkinson

In Memory of Patty Kinder Fehlig Mark G. Fehlig

In Memory of Morgan Dean Pope Judith Wydick, Bruce James

In Memory of Alan Pruitt Jody Newman

In Honor of School of the Osage Class

of 1955 Judith Wydick
In Honor of Jody Newman Judith Wydick

As Always, we are grateful for your generosity and support. Thank You!

Annual memberships are renewable in **January** of each calendar year. You can show your support for our organization and museum by filling out the application below and sending it, along with your payment, to the address shown.

Miller County Historical Society Membership Registration Please fill in the form and mark your membership choice below		
Name:	2	
Address	Fred Horizontal Andrews St.	
Home Phone:	Work Phone:	
Email Address:		
Individual membership—\$10 Family membership—\$15 Individual lifetime membership—Institutional Sustaining Member		



Visit our web site: http://millercountymuseum.org

Thank you for your continued support